## Preface

The proceedings contain papers presented at the Ninth Japan-Korea-Taiwan Joint Seminar on Earthquake Engineering for Building Structures (SEEBUS 2007), Hsinchu, Taiwan, October 26-27, 2007.

The joint seminar brings together researchers and experts from Japan, Korea and Taiwan to share the recent experience and knowledge of research and practice on earthquake engineering for building structures. The seminar includes contributions on current research in structural control, walls, precast concrete, reinforced concrete, retrofit, seismic analysis and assessment, and steel/composite structures. The coordinators would like to thank all the authors for their contributions.

The principal contributors are as follows.

## Japan

Hideo FUJITANI (Kobe University) Susumu KONO (Kyoto University) Bing LI (visiting Toyohashi University of Technology) Tomoya MATSUI (Toyohashi University of Technology) Mamoru ODA (Kyoto University) Yasushi SANADA (Toyohashi University of Technology) Masanori TANI (Kyoto University) Masaru TERAOKA (Kure College of Technology) Jiyang WANG (Kyoto University) Fumio WATANABE (Kyoto University)

## Korea

Kyoung-Kyu CHOI (Seoul National University) Sung-Gul HONG (Seoul National University) Hongjin KIM (Kyungpook National University) Taejin KIM (Sungkyunkwan University) Cheol-Ho LEE (Seoul National University) Dong-Guen LEE (Sungkyunkwan University) Kangmin LEE (Chungnam National University) Sung-Kyung LEE (Dankook University) Ji-Hun PARK (University of Incheon) Eunjong YU (Hanyang University)

## Taiwan

Heui-Yung CHANG (National University of Kaohsiung)
Cheng-Chih CHEN (National Chiao Tung University)
Chung-Che CHOU (National Chiao Tung University)
Shih-Yu CHU (National Cheng Kung University)
Shang-Hsien HSIEH (National Taiwan University)
Hung-Jen LEE (National Yunlin University of Science and Technology)
Jui-Liang LIN (National Center for Research on Earthquake Engineering)
Pei-Yang LIN (National Center for Research on Earthquake Engineering)
Lyan-Ywan LU (National Kaohsiung First University of Sci. and Tech.)
Yi-Hsuan TU (National Cheng-Kung University)

Coordinators:

Hiroshi KURAMOTO (Japan) Sung-Gul HONG (Korea) Cheng-Chih CHEN (Taiwan)

Hsinchu, Taiwan, October 2007